Kentucky’s general assembly adopted the state's version of Megan’s law in 1994. The law states that persons found guilty of a specific sex crime must register with the state’s criminal justice department.
Kentucky’s Sex offender law took effect on January 1, 1995. The law protects the citizens of the state from the menace of sex offenders. Sex offenders upon conviction must complete the necessary registration process.
The law mandates the court to inform persons found guilty of sex crimes about their obligation to register. It ensures that individuals guilty of sex crimes acknowledge their responsibilities towards registration.
Kentucky Sex Offenders law has 2 versions; The 1994 Act and the 1998 Act. Under the first Act, offenders registered for 10 years after found guilty of a sex crime.
The 1998 Act is a modification of the first act with extra registration requirements for sex offenders in Kentucky. The 1998 Act classifies sex offenders in Kentucky into 3 classes:
Moderate risk offenders
This classification depends on the possibility of an offender to re-offend. The law makes provision for the assessment of offenders upon their release from jail. The evaluation determines their chances of re-offending. The Sex Offender Risk Assessment Advisory Board carries out this assessment.
According to the 1998 Act, Low and Moderate risk offenders must register for 10 years. High-risk offenders must register for life.
The Kentucky Sex Offenders Registry handles the registration of sex offenders in the state. The registry ensures that every data registered by an offender is accurate and up to date. Information on Sex offenders in Kentucky gets to a central database managed by the states justice department.
Kidnapping (of a person under the age of 18), except by a parent - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 509.040(West 2008).
Unlawful confinement (of a person under the age of 18), except by a parent - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §509.020 (West 2008).
Promoting a sexual performance of a minor - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 531.320 (West 2008).
Human trafficking involving commercial sexual activity- KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 531. 100 (West 2008).
Promoting prostitution, when the defendant advances or profits from the prostitution of a person under the age of 18 (1st, 2nd, 3rd degrees) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 529.030-529.050 (West 2008).
Use of a minor in a sexual performance - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 531.310 (West 2008).
Sexual abuse (2nd and 3rd degrees) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 510.120-510.130 (West 2008).
NOTE: Any attempt or solicitation to commit one of the offenses listed above.
Rape (1st, 2nd, 3rd degrees) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 510.040 to .060 (West 2008).
Sodomy (1st, 2nd, 3rd degrees) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 510.070 to .090 (West 2008).
Sexual abuse (1st, 2nd, 3rd degrees) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. §§ 510.110 to .130 (West 2008).
Sexual misconduct - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 510.140 (West 2008).
3rd and subsequent offenses of Indecent exposure (1st degree) - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 510.148 (West 2008).
Incest - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 530.020 (West 2008).
Unlawful transaction with a minor in the first degree - KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 530.064 (West 2008).
Any felony attempt to commit one of the sex crimes listed above.
A federal felony offense, a felony offense subject to a court-martial of the United States Armed Forces, or a felony offense from another state or territory where the felony offense is similar to a felony offense specified.
KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 17.500 (West 2008)
social security number
date of birth
hair and eye color
a brief description of the crime(s) committed
other information deemed useful in the identification of registrants
2009 Kentucky Laws Ch. 105 (HB 321) (West 2008)
2) The following persons shall have a DNA sample collected by authorized personnel:
(a) Any person convicted on or after the effective date of this Act July 1, 2008, of a felony offense under the Kentucky Revised Statutes;
(b) Any juvenile who was at least fourteen (14) years of age at the time of the commission of the offense and who stands adjudicated delinquent of being a public offender by a court of competent jurisdiction, of: 1. Any felony offense in KRS Chapter 510; 2. Incest as defined in KRS 530.020; 3. Criminal attempt or criminal conspiracy to commit an offense identified in subparagraph 1. or 2. of this paragraph; or 4. Being a juvenile sexual offender under KRS 635.510, being thirteen (13) years of age or older at the time of the commission of the offense, adjudicated as a public offender for an offense identified in KRS 439.3401(1) or 530.020 on or after July 1, 2008, or who is in the custody of the Department of Corrections, the Department of Juvenile Justice, or a local or county jail on or after July 1, 2008, based upon a conviction or adjudication of an offense identified in this subsection, shall have a DNA sample collected by authorized personnel.
Community Notification and Websites
K.R.S. § 17.580
(1) The Kentucky State Police shall establish a Web site available to the public.
(6) In addition to the Web site, a local law enforcement agency may provide personal notification regarding the registrants located in its jurisdiction
Limitations on Residency or Employment
2006 Kentucky House Bill No. 3, Kentucky 2006 Regular Session (West 2008)
KRS 17.500 to 17.580 and amended to read as follows:
(1) No registrant, as defined in KRS 17.500, who is placed on probation, parole, or any form of supervised release, shall reside within one thousand (1,000) feet of a high school, middle school, elementary school, preschool, publicly owned playground, or licensed day care facility. The measurement shall be taken in a straight line from the nearest property line wall of the school to the nearest property line wall of the registrant's place of residence.
(2) For purposes of this section:(a) The registrant shall have the duty to ascertain whether any property listed in subsection (1) of this section is within one thousand (1,000) feet of the registrant's residence; and (b) If a new facility opens, the registrant shall be presumed to know and, within ninety (90) days, shall comply with this section.
(3) Any person who violates subsection (1) of this section shall be guilty of: (a) A Class A misdemeanor for a first offense; and (b) A Class D felony for the second and each subsequent offense.
(4) Any registrant residing within one thousand (1,000) feet of a high school, middle school, elementary school, preschool, publicly owned playground, or licensed day care facility on the effective date of this Act shall move and comply with this section within ninety (90) days of the effective date of this Act, and thereafter, shall be subject to the penalties set forth under subsection (3) of this section.
KY. REV. STAT. ANN. § 17.165 (West 2008)
(4) No child-care center as defined in KRS 199.894 shall employ, in a position, which involves supervisory or disciplinary power over a minor or direct contact with a minor, any person who is a violent offender or has been convicted of a sex crime. Each child-care center shall request all conviction information for any applicant for employment from the Justice and Public Safety Cabinet or the Administrative Office of the Courts prior to employing the applicant.
K.R.S. § 17.520 (WEST 2008)
(2) (a) Lifetime registration is required for:
1. Any person who has been convicted of kidnapping, as set forth in KRS 509.040, when the victim is under the age of eighteen (18) at the time of the commission of the offense, except when the offense is committed by a parent;
2. Any person who has been convicted of unlawful confinement, as set forth in KRS 509.020, when the victim is under the age of eighteen (18) at the time of the commission of the offense, except when the offense is committed by a parent;
3. Any person convicted of a sex crime: a. that has one (1) or more prior convictions of a felony criminal offense against a victim who is a minor;
b. Who has one (1) or more prior sex crime convictions;
4. Any person who has been convicted of two (2) or more felony criminal offenses against a victim who is a minor;
5. Any person who has been convicted of:
Rape in the first degree under KRS 510.040; or
Sodomy in the first degree under KRS 510.070; and
6. Any sexually violent predator.
(3) 20 years for all registrants not subject to lifetime registration.
Within 14 days of release; 14 days of being notified by parole/probation officer after moving into state (inferred from legislation); 14 days of changing address
Yes, if on active supervision
Class A misdemeanor
Most people think sexual predators are scary-looking and creepy. But three out of four adolescents who were sexually assaulted were victimized by someone they knew well.
Most of the time, sexual predators look like regular people. Children and parents need to know and to understand that anyone can be a sexual predator, no matter how "normal" they appear.
It isn't always easy to build a trusting relationship with your child. Trying to get your children to share what is going on in their lives can be difficult.
Building an open and welcoming environment from the beginning stages of a child's life is essential. Children are less intimidated and more likely to discuss issues and topics in their lives with an open and supportive environment.
Getting your kids to share serves as a building block for times when your child needs to discuss pressing issues like sex and sexual abuse.
KidsLiveSafe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe. This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.