Tennessee Sex Offenders

Tennessee Sex Offender law protects the citizens of the state from sex crime recidivism. The law ensures that all convicted sex offenders living in Tennessee register with the state’s law enforcement agency.

Convicted offenders must register within 48 hours of release from jail or parole. Duration of registration depends on the nature of the offense.

Sex offenders cannot live 1000 feet in parks, schools, daycare, and playgrounds. This restriction does not apply to offenders whose victims were adults.

Sex offenders living in areas close to children facilities may continue living in that location as long as they were there before their conviction.

Sex offenders who wish to attend school, work, or move to Tennessee must register in the state.

Tennessee Sex Offender Registry

Tennessee‘s Sex Offender Registry is in charge of all information on registered sex offenders in the state. The registry controls and verifies this information. Residents of Tennessee can access this information through the registry’s website.

Tennessee Sex Offender Facts

Facts

  • There are 19,801 registered sex offenders in Tennessee

Top Offenses

  • 2007
  • CLASS D OR E FELONY
  • JUVENILE OFFENDER ONLY
  • 2008
  • MITIGATED

Counties in Tennessee with the highest number of offenders:

  • Shelby County
  • Davidson County
  • Hardeman County
  • Knox County
  • Hamilton County
Zip Codes in Tennessee with the highest number of offenders:
  • 38075
  • 37367
  • 38079
  • 38425
  • 37887
  • 37683
  • 37140
  • 38103
  • 37201
  • 38041
Nearby States:
Alabama Sex Crimes Requiring Offender Registration
  • Sexual battery - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-505 (West 2008).

  • Statutory rape, - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-506 (West 2008).

  • Aggravated prostitution - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-516 (West 2008).

  • Sexual exploitation of a minor - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-17-1003 (West 2008).

  • Incest - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-15-302 (West 2008).

  • False imprisonment of a minor, except when committed by a parent of the minor victim - Tenn. Code

  • ANN. § 39-13-302 (West 2008).

  • Third or subsequent conviction for indecent exposure - Tenn. Code Ann. § 39-13-511 (West 2008).

  • Attempt, solicitation, criminal responsibility, conspiracy, facilitating the commission, or being an accessory after the act to commit any of the crimes listed above.

  • Aggravated Statutory rape - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-506(c ) (West 2008).

  • Aggravated rape TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-502

  • Rape - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-503 (West 2008).

  • Aggravated sexual battery - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-504 (West 2008).

  • Rape of a child - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-522 (West 2008).

  • Aggravated rape of a child Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-531

  • Aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-17-1004 (West 2008).

  • Especially aggravated sexual exploitation of a minor - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-17-1005 (West 2008).

  • Aggravated kidnapping where the victim is a minor, except when committed by a parent of the minor victim - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-304 (West 2008).

  • Especially aggravated kidnapping where the victim is a minor, except when committed by a parent of the minor victim - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-305 (West 2008).

  • Sexual battery by an authority figure - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-527 (West 2008).

  • Solicitation of a minor - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-528 (West 2008).

  • Criminal exposure to HIV - TENN. CODE ANN. § 39-13-109 (West 2008).

  • Exploitation of a minor by electronic means - Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-529 (West 2008).

  • Statutory rape by an authority figure Tenn. CODE ANN. § 39-13-532

  • Attempt, solicitation, criminal responsibility, conspiracy, facilitating the commission, or being an accessory after the act to commit any of the crimes listed above.

Information maintained in Alabama Sex Offender Registry

TENN. CODE ANN. § 40-39-203 (West 2008)

(i) TBI registration forms shall require the registrant's signature and disclosure of the following information, under penalty of perjury, pursuant to § 39-16-702(b)(3):

  1. Complete name and all aliases, including, but not limited to, any names that the offender may have had or currently has by reason of marriage or otherwise;

  2. Date and place of birth;

  3. Social security number;

  4. A photocopy of a valid driver's license, or if no valid driver license has been issued to the offender, a photocopy of any state or federal government issued identification card;

  5. For an offender on supervised release, the name, address, and telephone number of the registrant's probation or parole officer or other person responsible for the registrant's supervision;

  6. Sexual offenses or violent sexual offenses for which the registrant has been convicted, the date of the offenses and the county and state of each conviction;

  7. Name of any current employers and length of employment, including physical addresses and phone numbers;

  8. Current physical address and length of residence at that address, which shall include any primary or

  9. Secondary residences. For the purpose of this section, a post office box number shall not be considered an address;

  10. Mailing address, if different from physical address;

  11. Any vehicle, mobile home, trailer or manufactured home used or owned by an offender, including

  12. descriptions, vehicle information numbers and license tag numbers;

  13. Any vessel, live-aboard vessel or houseboat used by an offender, including the name of the vessel,

  14. description, and all identifying numbers;

  15. Name and address of each institution of higher education in this state where the offender is employed or practices a vocation or is a student;

  16. Race and gender;

  17. Name, address and phone number of offender's closest living relative;

  18. Whether victims of the offender's convictions are minors or adults, the number of victims and the

  19. correct age of the victim or victims and of the offender at the time of the offense or offenses, if the ages are known;

  20. Verification by the TBI or the offender that the TBI has received the offender's DNA sample;

  21. A complete listing of the offender's electronic mail address information or any instant message, chat or other Internet communication name or identity that the person uses or intends to use;

  22. Whether any minors reside in the primary or secondary residence; and (19)(A) Any other registration, verification and tracking information, including fingerprints and a current photograph of the offender, vehicles and vessels, as referred to in subdivisions (i)(10) and (i)(11), as may be required by rules promulgated by the TBI, in accordance with the Uniform Administrative Procedures Act, compiled in title 4, chapter 5;

Community Notification and Websites

T.C.A. § 40-39-206 (West 2008)

(e):

  • For all sexual offenses, and offenses now defined as violent sexual offenses, committed on or after July 1, 1997, the information concerning a registered offender shall be considered public information.

  • In addition to making the information available in the same manner as public records, the Tennessee Bureau of Investigations (TBI) shall prepare and place the information on the state's Internet homepage.

  • This information shall become a part of the Tennessee internet criminal information center when that center is created within the TBI.

  • The TBI shall also establish and operate a toll-free telephone number, to be known as the "Tennessee Internet Criminal Information Center Hotline," to permit members of the public to call and inquire as to whether a named individual is listed among those who have registered as offenders as required by this part.

Limitations on Residency or Employment

Tenn. CODE ANN. § 40-39-211 (West 2008)

  1. While mandated to comply with the requirements of this chapter, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, shall knowingly establish a primary or secondary residence or any other living accommodation, knowingly obtain sexual offender treatment or attend a sexual offender treatment program or knowingly accept employment within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public.

  2. No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall knowingly:

  1. Reside within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line on which the offender's former victims or the victims' immediate family members reside;

  2. Come within one hundred feet (100′) of any of the offender's former victims, except as otherwise authorized by law; or

(c) While mandated to comply with the requirements of this part, no sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, whose victim was a minor, shall knowingly reside with a minor. Notwithstanding this subsection (c), the offender may reside with a minor, if the offender is the parent of the minor, unless one (1) of the following conditions applies:

  1. The offender's parental rights have been or are in the process of being terminated as provided by law; or

  2. Any minor or adult child of the offender was a victim of a sexual offense or violent sexual offense

  1. committed by the offender.

(d)(1) No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall knowingly:

  1. Be upon or remain on the premises of any school building or school grounds in this state when the

  2. person has reason to believe children under eighteen (18) years of age are present.

  3. Stand, sit idly, whether or not the person is in a vehicle, or remain within five hundred feet (500′) of a

  4. school building or on school grounds in this state when children under eighteen (18) years of age are

  5. present, while not having a reason or relationship involving custody of or responsibility for a student or any other specific or legitimate reason for being there; or (C) Be in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school to transport students to or from school or a school-related activity when children under eighteen (18) years of age are present in the conveyance.

(2) Subdivision (d)(1) shall not apply when the offender:

(A) Is a student in attendance at the school;

(B) Is attending an academic conference or other scheduled school event with school officials as a parent or legal guardian of a child who is enrolled in the school and is participating in the conference or event;

(C) Resides at a state licensed or certified facility for incarceration, health or convalescent care;

(D) Is dropping off or picking up a child or children and the person is the child or children's parent or legal guardian; or

(E) Is temporarily on school grounds, during school hours, for the purpose of making a mail, food or other delivery.

(e) Changes in the ownership or use of property within one thousand feet (1,000′) of the property line of an offender's primary or secondary residence or place of employment that occur after an offender establishes residence or accepts employment shall not form the basis for finding that an offender is in violation of the residence restrictions of this section.

TN LEGIS 597 (2009)

(d)(1) No sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, or violent sexual offender, as defined in § 40-39-202, shall knowingly:

(A) Be upon or remain on the premises of any building or grounds of any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public in this state when the offender has reason to believe children under eighteen

(18) years of age are present;

(B) Stand, sit idly, whether or not the offender is in a vehicle, or remain within one thousand feet (1,000') of the property line of, or any building owned or operated by, any public school, private or parochial school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, public park, playground, recreation center or public athletic field available for use by the general public in this state when children under eighteen (18) years of age are present, while not having a reason or relationship involving custody of or responsibility for a child or any other specific or legitimate reason for being there; or

(C) Be in any conveyance owned, leased or contracted by a school, licensed day care center, other child care facility, or recreation center to transport students to or from school, daycare, child care, or a recreation center or any related activity thereof when children under eighteen (18) years of age are present in the conveyance.

(2) Subdivision (d)(1) shall not apply when the offender:

    1. Is a student in attendance at the school;

    2. Is attending a conference or other scheduled event with school, daycare, child care, park, playground, or recreation center officials as a parent or legal guardian of a child who is enrolled and participating in the conference or other scheduled event of the school, day care center, other child care center, park, playground or recreation center;

    3. Resides at a state licensed or certified facility for incarceration, health or convalescent care; or

    4. Is dropping off or picking up a child or children and the person is the child or children's parent or legal guardian.

(3) The exemption provided in subdivision (d)(2)(B) shall not apply if the victim of the offender's sexual offense or violent sexual offense was a minor at the time of the offense and the victim is enrolled in the school, day care center, recreation center or other child care center that is participating in the conference or other scheduled event.

SECTION 2. This act shall take effect July 1, 2009, the public welfare requiring it.

Duration of Registration

T.C.A. § 40-39-207 (West 2008)

(a)(1) Sex offenders may petition for termination of the registration obligation no sooner than 10 years since their release from incarceration.

(g)(1) Life for persons:

  • ƒ with 1 or more prior sex offense convictions

  • ƒ who have been convicted of a violent sexual offense

Timeframe for Registration

During pre-sentence investigation, immediately upon probation, parole or confinement; 10 days of changing address

Applies to Offenders Convicted in another State?

Yes

Verification of Address

No

Penalties for Non-Compliance

Class A misdemeanor mandatory 90 day’s confinement and 1 year probation

What does a Sex Offender Look Like?

Most people think sexual predators are scary-looking and creepy. But three out of four adolescents who were sexually assaulted were victimized by someone they knew well.

Most of the time, sexual predators look like regular people. Children and parents need to know and to understand that anyone can be a sexual predator, no matter how "normal" they appear.

Encouraging Children to Share

It isn't always easy to build a trusting relationship with your child. Trying to get your children to share what is going on in their lives can be difficult.

Building an open and welcoming environment from the beginning stages of a child's life is essential. Children are less intimidated and more likely to discuss issues and topics in their lives with an open and supportive environment.

Getting your kids to share serves as a building block for times when your child needs to discuss pressing issues like sex and sexual abuse.

Free Parental eBook

KidsLiveSafe put together a comprehensive parents guide about sexual predators and keeping children safe. This free online eBook includes vital statistics, how to tell if a predator is victimizing a child, and social media and cyber-bullying.

See KidsLiveSafe eBook